Political System
Home › India › Political System

Official name

Republic of India

Structure of the state

Union of 29 states and 7 Union territories with the Central Government based in New Delhi.

Political system

Multi-party parliamentary democracy, based on universal adult franchise.


Bicameral legislature, with the Upper House known as the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lower House known as the Lok Sabha (Council of the People)

Last Parliamentary Elections

April-May 2014

Current Government

Bharatiya Janata Party

Head of State

President – Shri Pranab Mukhrejee

Head of Government

Prime Minister –Shri Narendra Modi

Address: Embassy of India, Bijenik 152B, 10000 Zagreb(Croatia)
Working hours: 08:30 hours to 17:00 hours (Monday to Friday)
Telephone Numbers: (00-385-1) 4873239, 4873240, 4873241
Fax Number: (00-385-1) 4817907

Webmaster: Ankur Kumar.
Page last updated on 14.06.2017.

Copyright policy | Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy|
Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Option | Help

© Embassy of India, Zagreb(Croatia) 2018. All Rights Reserved.